Keep Cold And Carry On…

Firstly, thanks to everyone for their kind thoughts. Kate is halfway through her first chemo treatment with two sessions to come. Anyone who’s been through this will know that the drugs they give you to fight lymphoma are powerful, with a number of unpleasant side effects. She has coped valiantly with all the headaches, stomach aches, and pains here, there and everywhere.  Not sure how I’d cope myself, probably be a ‘right mess’.

Today is freezing here in North Devon, inside and out, as our boiler has gone kaput and we have no heating. Writing this in several layers with frozen digits. It never rains it… snows.

With all the planning for a little promo for ‘Kiss and Tell’ I haven’t made as much progress as I’d like on my second novel ‘Defending Elton’. It’s in edit stage and I hope to have it as a final draft sometime next month.  ‘Kiss and Tell’ by the way is doing well and I’m pleases that it has generated such positive feedback. It’s still exclusive to KDP Publishing via Amazon so I’m taking advantage of their free  promotion days, making it free this week on Thursday 24th and Friday 25th.

At first I couldn’t quite get my head around how giving away your work for nothing could be a helpful marketing tool. However, having tried it in late December I now know what an impact it can make. Many folks downloaded and the network which then follows of telling friends and recommending the read etc is worth its weight in gold.

From Sunday 27th onward you might find that the book gets a few mentions on some notable crime fiction blogs, and in advance I’d like to thank everyone who has helped. Surviving as an indie writer depends a fair bit on the willingness of the community.

I’m a relative novice myself and have found that most folks concerned are friendly and helpful. I hope to meet some newly found friends at this year’s Crimefest at the end of May.  It’s always reassuring to find that people are willing to share their experiences, particularly those who have been guinea pigs themselves in the new direct publishing revolution. I am now starting to share my own experience with others and remain happy to do so.

I have learned so much these last few months and realised just how out of touch with modern technology and social networking I had become. This month’s progress, with some helpful advice, has included Facebook and GoodReads, neither of which I have had previous involvement with. Twitter on the other hand I’ve been dallying with for several months and have found it useful and entertaining.  Live and learn…

Finally for now, my radio advertising company [www.soundssorted.com] entered the lovable but totally bonkers ‘Trolley’ in the ‘Britain’s Best Office Dog’ competition. She didn’t win, but then she was up against some mightily cute pooches who ‘work’ for much larger companies. It was a facebook and twitter vote so they had far more connections. Still, well done for entering…  and a large bone for trying…

‘Kiss and Tell’ –  http://amzn.to/WZbNPp

 

One Response to “Keep Cold And Carry On…”

  1. Margot Kinberg Says:

    Tim – So good to hear that you and Kate are coping. You are, I am sure, a real source of strength to her. And I wouldn’t beat yourself up too much about not making the progress you’d like on your second novel. Sometimes life gets in the way; I know it does for me. Stay warm!


Leave a Reply

